Welcome to the Department of Anesthesiology at the University of Puerto Rico. Founded by Dr. Nydia De Jesus in 1962 as the first and only anesthesiology program on the Island, our department has graduated 85% of the anesthesiologists practicing in Puerto Rico. Our goal is to provide an outstanding patient care and to educate the next generation of clinicians and leaders of our discipline.

We currently hold an active accreditation from the ACGME and our next review visit is expected in 2013.

We are fortunate to be part of a first-class university with exceptional affiliated institutions. I encourage you to learn about the different facets of our department by exploring this website. You will learn about our diverse and specialized faculty with a strong dedication to residents, students and continuing medical education. The diverse curriculum permits candidates to fulfill the educational requirements for entrance to the American Board of Anesthesiology examination system.

As a former resident and faculty member at the University of Puerto Rico, and now serving as Chair, I have come to appreciate the unique blend of professional and personal opportunities that our department and Puerto Rico offers. I look forward to contributing to our continuing success, and I invite you to become a part of it.

Dr. Elfren Colón Rodríguez
Chairman and Program Director