The Department of Anesthesiology at the University of Puerto Rico was founded by Dr. Nydia De Jesus in 1962 as the first and is currently the only Anesthesiology
Residency program in Puerto Rico. Our department has graduated 85% of the Anesthesiologists practicing in Puerto Rico. Our goal is to provide an outstanding patient care and to educate the next generation of clinicians and leaders of our discipline.

We are fortunate to be part of a first-class University with exceptional affiliated institutions. These institutions provide a diverse and specialized faculty with a strong dedication to residents, students and continuing medical education. The diverse curriculum permits candidates to fulfill the educational requirements for entrance to the American Board of Anesthesiology examination system.

We have currently 100% passing rate in written American Board of Anesthesiology Examination. Research is of utmost importance in scientific endeavor. Studies on both clinical sciences and clinical trials are also part of our goals. We welcome all candidates and personnel that are interested in contributing to our continuing success and we invite you to become a part of it.