The Orthopaedic Surgery Residency Program at the University of Puerto Rico was established in 1968 under direction of Dr. Aníbal Lugo Lugo.  Dr. Rafael Fernández Feliberti in 1976 became the Chairman and Program Director of Orthopaedics at the University of Puerto Rico. He was followed in 2000 by Dr. Manuel García Ariz until 2014. Currently Dr. Francisco López González is the Chairman and Dr. Antonio Otero López is the Residency Program Director.

The Orthopaedic Residency Program is an integrated training program based at the Puerto Rico Medical Center (Adult University Hospital, Pediatric Hospital, San Juan Hospital and Oncology Hospital) and five additional participating sites. The sponsoring Institution University of Puerto Rico Medical Sciences Building is adjacent to the Central Building of the Puerto Rico Medical Center.  The Basic Science Departments of the Medical School, the offices of our Department and the Orthopedic Learning and Research Surgical Laboratories are all within the same building.

We have an outstanding faculty members committed with the teaching of future orthopaedic surgeons in Puerto Rico.